Executive Committee

The “History of the Max Planck Society” research program is headed by Professor Jürgen Renn, Professor Carsten Reinhardt and Professor Jürgen Kocka. The committee combines a variety of perspectives on the research fields and working methods of the Max Planck Society, its institutes and their staff.

  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Renn

    Jürgen Renn is director of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin, adjunct professor for the history of science at Humboldt-Universität Berlin and adjunct professor for physics at Freie Universität Berlin.

  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Reinhardt

    Carsten Reinhardt is professor for historical studies of science at the University of Bielefeld; between 2013 and 2016 he has served as president and executive director of the Chemical Heritage Foundation in Philadelphia (USA).

  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Kocka

    Jürgen Kocka taught modern history and social history at Bielefeld University and Freie Universität Berlin from 1973 to 2009. He was the director of the Berliner Zentrum/Kolleg für vergleichende Geschichte Europas (FU and Humboldt-Universität Berlin) and president of the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB).