Double-click to edit
Tap to edit

Executive Committee

The Research Program “History of the Max Planck Society” is headed by Professor Jürgen Renn, Professor Carsten Reinhardt and Professor Jürgen Kocka. The committee combines a variety of perspectives on the research fields and working methods of the Max Planck Society, its institutes and their staff.

  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Renn

    Jürgen Renn is Director of both the Max Planck Institute for Geoanthropology in Jena and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin, Adjunct Professor for the History of Science at Humboldt-Universität Berlin and Adjunct Professor for Physics at Freie Universität Berlin. In 2011, then MPG President Peter Gruss commissioned him to initiate a Presidential Commission on the History of the Max Planck Society. Since 2014, he has been principally in charge of the resulting research program, always in close consultation with his colleagues Jürgen Kocka and Carsten Reinhardt.

  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Reinhardt

    Carsten Reinhardt is Professor for Historical Studies of Science at the University of Bielefeld. Between 2013 and 2016 he served as President and Executive Director of the Chemical Heritage Foundation in Philadelphia (USA).

  • Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Jürgen Kocka

    Jürgen Kocka taught modern history and social history at Bielefeld University and Freie Universität Berlin from 1973 to 2009. He was Director of the Berliner Zentrum/Kolleg für vergleichende Geschichte Europas (FU and Humboldt-Universität Berlin) and President of the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB).